top of page

Full Bicycling Interview

Uppdaterat: 8 okt. 2022

Bicycling Sweden has been kind enough to allow us to translate the entire interview with

XL Biking's founder Ebbe Silva. The community has spoken, we listened! Enjoy and spread the word!


VÄSTERÅS 2021-09-01

Photo: Fredrik StÀvegÄrd. Instagram: @fujifredrik

When did you start cycling?

- I grew up in Brazil where owning a bike wasn't something most kids could brag about. My parents wanted to teach me the importance of having one and being able to cycle, so when I was about 12 years old, I got permission to use my own savings to buy my first bike, a BMX. It quickly became a passion, and with the increase in the number of scars I got from it my parents began to question their decision.

Did it stop then? - Well, let's say I was not allowed to compete anymore. Cycling did become more sporadic when I moved to the U.S. to study, and when I started working it stopped altogether. After that time cycling was in and out of my life depending on the circumstances. But now you're cycling again?

- After I became burned out due to my work I decided to live a different life. As I started to get things in order I discovered I had been a diabetic for a long time. I took the diagnostic as a good sign telling me I was moving in the right direction reassessing how I lived. I now had clear goal - I just needed a way to get there. And, then you found your way back to cycling?

- I'm 6'1and at the time weighed 343 lbs (187 cm/ 156 Kg). I couldn't convince myself to go to the gym, it was too embarassing. I needed something I could be passionate about, something I could grab and not let go, something that could be attractive with freedom, but also with structure, something that would allow me to challenge myself my way, that would be tough enough but also fun. The answer came with two wheels: cycling!

I love cycling!

Photo: Fredrik StÀvegÄrd. Instagram: @fujifredrik

 

"Diversity within the sports culture has to do with much more than skin color, ethnicity, gender or sexual identity. It may as well have to to with something as simple as body weight. Ebbe Silva, who is just as proud of being a cyclist as he is of being a citizen of (the actual) VÀsterÄs, runs the network XL Biking. He wants to help form a better and more inclusive cycling culture - where he lives and around the world."

(Daniel Breece. Editor-in-chief, Bicycling, Sweden).

 

What is the idea behind the network XL Biking?

- All bodies are cycling bodies and we work to see more people cycling. For us it is fundamental to be active with the positive, not militant with the negative. We want to inspire, motivate and function as a hub for all cyclists who feel ignored and forgotten by the cycling culture and the cycling industry. We work to include larger cyclists in all aspects of cycling, from cycling clubs to product development, marketing and cycling media. Perhaps that which characterizes us the most is the worldwide and welcoming fellowship we created on social media. XL Biking wants to be the hub where a cyclist will be able to find friends, inclusive cycling clubs, brands and companies that care and treat everyone with respect and engagement. But that is not only a cycling related problem, right?

- Absolutely not. Western societies have since long been marked by the stigmatization of fat people. I use that word purposely, since the term "overweight" has often been used interchangeably with "unhealthy" which can lead to misunderstandings. The least litte grade of bodily fat is still seen as unfitting and large people are still being poorly treated in all areas of society because of their weight. Some have been denied employment, others often receive unsolicited dieting and weight loss advice, still others have experienced violations of their rights within the health care sector being denied proper care and help - resulting in more stigmas!


Both sportive and competitive cycling have, understandably, been obsessed with weight in regards to equipment but also cyclists. How do you think we should we think and navigate around this question?

- The sport of cycling is always evolving, and the hunt for marginal gains is part of the fun and excitment of it. There's nothing wrong with being competitive and wanting to talk bikes, weight, watts and speed with your comrades as long as one doesn't forget that cycling is a whole bigger than its parts. An important part of cycling is the sense of community, the fellowship, and we don't need to exclude those who aren't hunting ounces and grams. It all depends on what a person or group wants to accomplish with their cycling. It is nevertheless unnaceptable to blame or exclude others because of bike choice, body weight, clothing and the like. Neither elitism nor stigmatization belong in the world of sports. But, to test, try, wonder, experiment, compare in a good manner, and challenge one's self and others within a proper context are definitely part of it. In your opinion, what responsibility does the cycling industry have?

- Here I'd like to paraphrase Princess Victoria of Sweden, taking the liberty to change the term "Fashion Industry" for "Cycling Industry": "We need a cycling industry that liberates rather than limits" (From the Princess' speech at the opening ceremony of the Stockholm Fashion Week). It should be one of the cycling industry's main concerns to include more potential customers. Doing that it will also contribute to the general health of everyone, and who wouldn't want to be part of that! What are your best tips for the overweight cyclist?

- You are a cyclist, your own cyclist, no matter what others say. Be yourself, use the body you have to accomplish attainable goals that benefit your daily life and total health. No special or expensive bike is required to get started and the best training is the one that actually happens. First and foremost keep in mind that it is fun to cycle and you are helping a worldwide movement that betters the entire society - no matter if you cycle around the corner, to the nearest shop or the 315 km of a VĂ€tternrundan Sportive. Do you have any recipe for how cycling can become more inclusive, not only towards overweight riders, but everyone?

- In a sense we need to start at a different end. We need more and better laws that protect cyclists, less discrimination against cyclists as road users and better cycling infrastructure in our cities. This is the first step for creating proper space for more cyclists. Beyond that, we need cycling ambassadors in all shapes and sizes, representation of different bodies in cycling media and cycling ads, and a cycling industry with place for diversity.

Photo: Fredrik StÀvegÄrd. Instagram: @fujifredrik

How do you cycle mostly?

- I love road cycling and found some less busy roads in VĂ€stmanland County thanks to a riding friend from the area who had a cycling blog, Ingemar Gardell. Through him I ended up falling in love with gravel cycling, which has plenty of options here in Sweden. Variation is important for me so now I've taken up mountain biking as well - the hardest and most fun I've done in a while. Do you have any favorite routes?

- I if were to pick one it would be the route VÀsterÄs-RamnÀs-Hallstahammar and back, a good distance (78 km) with not so harsh hills. As far as MTB goes I enjoy the old silver mining trails (Knektleden) near Sala or the small bikepark in Fagersta. _________________________________

0 kommentarer

Senaste inlÀgg

Visa alla
bottom of page