top of page

It doesn't have to be around the world

Uppdaterat: 16 okt. 2022

Every cycling adventure doesn't need to be around the world to count as adventurous. It could be a micro adventure, a nano-adventure (XL biking's term) or just a ride to a park nearby that makes you feel like you're away for a little bit. (Bonus: Little video at the end of article).


GÄDDEHOLM, Sweden. 10-15.2022. Updated: 16/10

A few gravel roads later: Gäddeholm! A nano adventure and lunch.
The perfect riding day is any day you ride.

I love reading about bikepacking and long rides. Sometimes I catch myself planning the "perfect outing" and that day never comes. I often find myself stuck in other things and as time goes by and I hyperfocus on them I miss my riding day and end up frustrated. I then end up taking a walk or doing other kinds of physical activity to still my thoughts. But I wanted to ride, need to ride. I began to think about it and realised that every time I was riding, let it be to the store, town or to my little gravel spot (Gädeholm) close to home I had that adventurous feeling. The perfect riding day is really any day you ride, do you agree?

My friend Alex from Danmark sent me this button - he is right!
Nano adventure (again)

What do you want? I wanna cycle the gravel roads through the woods and light a fire to cook a meal! When do you want it? Now! What's holding you? Nano adventures do not include spend the night out. They're these quick escapades that remind you that cycling is fun and gravel is the shit! Well, in my book, but you get the picture.

"Pinnbröd", swedish for bread on a stick. Mine had a few tweaks.

Henrik Orre, the Velochef, has a bunch of cool recipes in his book "Outside is free" with focus on cycling. I've decided to try his bread on the stick, so I prepared the dough the day before and then took it and my DIY IKEA Hobo Stove when time came. I'll give you my twist to his recipe.

Bread on the stick


  • 2,5 cups of flour

  • 1 tsp baking powder

  • 1-2 tsp salt

  • 1 cup of milk

  • 1 cup of grated cheese

  • 6 Frankfurter sausages (or any other of your choice, but not too thick)

  1. Mix the dry ingredients

  2. Add the milk and form a dough (don't make it sticky)

  3. Store in a ziploc bag in the fridge overnight or just take it with you right away.

  4. Flatten the dough to your liking and cut long stripes to roll around the sausages.

  5. Use a stick you make or just take some skewers and stick them into these jokers.

  6. Grill over indirect fire (big fire) or just make sure you don't burn them (lil' fire).

  7. When they get a little crispy start checking the dough more often, when it starts feeling like bread (or pizza crust) they're ready.

Enjoy your nano adventure at a place you love, close to home, and return replenished.



0 kommentarer

Senaste inlägg

Visa alla
bottom of page